Situated on the southwest of Peninsular Malaysia with an area of 658 sq km, Melaka is the most historical state in Malaysia.

Melaka was founded by Parameswara, a Hindu prince banished from Sumatra, in 1400, Since then, Melaka had become an international seaport with merchant ships arriving from China, India, Middle East, etc.

1511, Melaka was occupied by the Portuguese. 1641, it was taken over by the Dutch until the British took it over in 1824. During the World War II, Melaka was under the Japanese rule from 1942 to 1945.

Tunku Abdul Rahman, the nation’s first prime minister, read out the Proclamation for Independence at Bandar Hilir here on 20th February 1956.

Melaka today still boasts many well preserved historic sites, including Cheng Hoon Teng, the oldest Chinese temple in the country (built in 1646), Hang Li Po Well (1459), a 600-year old mosque and Hang Kasturi Mausoleum.

Within the town are the ruins of St Paul’s Church, A Famosa and numerous buildings and churches from the Dutch colonial era.

Tourists can also visit the Baba & Nyonya museum in the town to appreciate the priceless heritage of the ‘Straits Chinese’.

Other than structures of historical values, Melaka also offers a number of splendid beaches and islands such as Pulau Besar, Pulau Upeh, Klebang, Tanjung Bidara, Tanjung Kling and Pantai Kundur.

Malacca Area: 1 683 sq km

Malacca State Capital: Malacca Town

Malacca Administrative Divisions: Alor Gajah, Jasin and Central Malacca

  • Share
Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.