Johor is the southern gateway to peninsular Malaysia. It is the third largest state in West Malaysia with an area of 19,984 sq km. State capital Johor Bahru is linked to Singapore by a 1-km long causeway.

Within the city of Johor Bahru are some of the renowned historic buildings such as Royal Abu Bakar Museum, Sultan Abu Bakar Mosque, Sultan Ibrahim Building, among others.

The other attractions in the state include the Endau-Rompin National Park famous for its rare flora and fauna species, the mangrove swamps of Tanjung Piai, Kota Tinggi waterfalls and the 1,276-metre Gunung Ledang.

Off the northeastern coast of Johor are some of the idyllic islands that constitute the Marine Park, namely Pulau Sibu, Pulau Tinggi, Pulau Besar, Pulau Tengah, Pulau Hujong, Pulau Aur and Pulau Rawa.

Johor Area: 18 986 square km

Johor Capital: Johor Bahru

Johor Administrative Divisions: Batu Pahat, Johor Bahru, Kluang, Kota Tinggi, Mersing, Muar, Pontian, Segamat

  • Share
Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.